View from the Oche

18 Feb

hqdefault

 

Well it has been a while since the last edition of View from the Oche. The last entry was made way back in October 2014, before I returned for a brief hiatus to the UK for family reasons. Quite a lot had changed on my return a few months back, with a plethora of new bars in town and a few new teams and players. Most of the old faces remain involved in the darts scene , just looking that bit older and unfortunately not wiser. Sad to see ACDC fold though :[

I was involved with my old team , The Phukkers , for a bit of the second half of last season ,though it was interesting after not throwing a dart for over a year ,how hard it was to get back into it – though I imagine my team mates will say I was just as shite as normal.

The off season has seen plenty of changes on the committee and plenty of banter on the Facebook page , before Glyn gets around to deleting posts . I actually love reading the Facebook arguments from afar and I guess it shows how passionate some people are about their darts.

I was having a beer a few weeks ago with one of the leagues old players Tim Russell and Brett Nelson ,in the rather nice new bar Malt ,when they mentioned View from the Oche and it occurred to me that I may start it up again ,especially with my family no longer over here . So it will be making a return for the new season and I hope it informs and entertains. All the old features will probably return and I will try to include some new ones ,once I have had time to think about it. Quite interesting reading the old entries back after all this time ,though most of it just seems like yesterday ,I guess that is the price I pay for being an old git !

Good luck next Tuesday.

 

Jimish

One Response to “View from the Oche”

  1. Jeff Spijkers February 18, 2016 at 9:33 am #

    Delighted to see “The View” back again! Always loved reading it, and look forward to new and what I’m sure will be interesting new editions! Welcome Back Jim!

Leave a comment